Constituent Assembly Members

Brijlal Biyani

1886 - 1968

Key Information






Mother Tongue:


Committee Memberships


Early Life

Popularly known as Vidarbha Kesari, Brijlal Biyani was born on 6 December 1896 at Vidarbha, Maharashtra. Biyani spent his childhood in Akola (a district in present-day Maharashtra) and studied at Morris College in Nagpur. He was a political activist and writer.

Role in India’s Independence Movement

Biyani was immensely influenced by Mahatma Gandhi which pushed him to participate in the Non-Cooperation Movement (1920-22). He later led the regional political activities during the Civil Disobedience movement (1930) and the Quit India movement (1942) in Maharashtra. 

He was imprisoned four times for his participation in various struggles, including the Dahihanda Salt Satyagraha and Jungle Satyagraha.

Biyani was elected as a member of the Third Legislative Council of Central Provinces and Berar (1927 to 1930).

Contribution to Constitution Making

Biyani was elected to the Constituent Assembly from Central Provinces and Berar on a Congress party ticket. He did not intervene in the Assembly debates.

Later Contributions

Post-independence, Biyani played an important role in the politics of Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. Biyani served as the Finance Minister of Madhya Pradesh. He was later elected to the Legislative Assembly of the Bombay State (1957) and was a member of the first Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra.

An illustrious political leader, Biyani passed away in 1968. The Indian government issued a commemorative postal stamp in his honour (2002).