The Constitution making process was organised around the deliberations of the Constituent Assembly. The members of the Constituent Assembly were elected on a limited franchise. The Cabinet Mission Plan, which set up the Constituent Assembly of India, discarded full adult franchise for elections to the Constituent Assembly and instead suggested indirect elections by members of the recently elected Provincial Legislative Assemblies. In addition to members elected by the Provincial Legislative Assembly (292), the Princely States and the Chief Commissioner’s Provinces contributed 93 and 4 members of the Constituent Assembly taking the total membership to 389. After partition, the total number of seats came down to 299 as some Provinces and Princely States became part of Pakistan. Rajendra Prasad was elected as the Chairman of the Constituent Assembly.

A major chunk of deliberations of the Constituent Assembly was on the Draft Constitution(s) prepared by the Drafting Committee. Members of the Constituent Assembly proposed amendments which had to be submitted in advance to the Chairman, and these were debated at length. At the end of a debate around an Article of the Draft Constitution, the Constituent Assembly either adopted or rejected amendments. It took decisions through a majority vote. 

On 9 December 1946, the Constituent Assembly sat for the first time. In the span of 2 years and 11 months, it completed its task of framing the Indian Constitution. During this period the Constituent Assembly had 11 sessions and sat for a total of 166 days. On 26 November the Constituent Assembly adopted the Constitution of India which came into force on 26 January 1950. 


The proceedings of the Constituent Assembly of India have been transcribed and are available at the link below.