Constituent Assembly Members

O.V. Alagesan

1911 - 1992

Key Information






Mother Tongue:


Committee Memberships


Early Life:

O.V. Alagesan was born on 6th September 1911 in Ozhalur village in Tamil Nadu. He studied at Presidency College in Madras from 1928-1930, after which he discontinued his studies to participate in the freedom struggle.

Although he worked as an agriculturist, he soon gave it up to pursue his political ambitions. He was a member of the Chengalpattu Taluk Congress Committee from 1930-1935 and the Tamil Nadu Congress Committee from 1945-48.

Role in India’s Independence Movement:

Alagesan left college in 1930 to join the Salt Satyagraha movement in 1930. He was also an active participant in the Civil Disobedience movement, the Individual Satyagraha movement, and the Quit India movement. As a result, he was imprisoned for over three years.

Contribution to Constitution Making:

Alagesan was elected to the Constituent Assembly from Madras on a Congress Party ticket. He intervened in the debates on bicameralism and preventive detention.

Later Contributions:

Alagesan was elected to the Lok Sabha three times: in 1952, 1962, and 1971. During his terms as a Member of Parliament, he also served as the Union Minister for Transport and Railways from 1952-57, and the Minister of State for Irrigation and Power from 1962-63.

In addition to his work in politics, Alagesan founded the Bhaktavatsalam Educational Trust in 1958, which continues to manage a number of educational and vocational institutes.

He passed away in 1992.

  1. Alagesan voiced his displeasure at the adoption of the bicameral system of governance.
  2. He also expressed concern about the misuse of the provisions on preventive detention.
  3. In the debates on Articles 226 and 229, he spoke about the dangers to provincial autonomy caused by State encroachment.